Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Considering an Elantra, but questions
ElantraClub - For Elantra Owners and Enthusiasts > Community > The Newbie Forum

View New Posts
utopiarun
Hello everyone! I am in the market for a new car as my 2006 Saturn Ion keeps finding new ways to make me miserable and poor.

My friend recommended the Elantra to me and I test drove one yesterday. I liked the way it handled and the look of the car. I do about 75 miles a day and some of the miles are tough stop and start. I am concerned about the durability of the car and whether it would last through a 72 month purchase term. I am interested in the base unit, I don't need aluminum alloy wheels or any of that fancy stuff although the salesperson seemed to think I would need it, I am sure he was looking for added comission.

I am also thinking about a manual vs automatic. Currently I have been driving a manual for the past 5 years and I have a love/hate relationship with it as it's great to have the control but it's murder in stop and start traffic.

So, my 2 basic questions are, do you think the 2012 or 2013 Elantra can handle a rough commute for 6 years and if so, any preference between manual and automatic transmission?

I thank you for reading this rambling message and appreciate any reposnses and help you can offer.

VIG
First of all welcome.

Second, the car will be fine with your commute. These cars are built solidly, and are made to last. You'll have no problems with durability, plus you'll probably save a few bucks at the pump.

As for manual vs auto, that's really something I think you're going to have to decide for yourself. The manuals are getting harder and harder to find. Either way, the Elantra is a good choice.
Kate31