Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New to Hyundai
ElantraClub - For Elantra Owners and Enthusiasts > Community > The Newbie Forum

View New Posts
Idaho Elantra
Just bought a 99 Elantra GL. It was for my daughter but since I drive much further than her each day I ended up with the Elantra (and better mileage) and she has my Ford Ranger. As long as I am driving the Elantra I think I might as well have some fun and make some simple mods. I am curious what the difference between the different models are. My GL has the 2.0 L 16V DOHC engine what does the GLS and the GT have? What are the other differences? Any info would be very helpful and I am very new to this.

Thanks.
Bobzilla
Well, the J2 (96-00) were only offered in GL and GLS and sedan and wagon. You have the Beta engine where us XD/XD2 owners have the Beta II.

The J2's used a very similar suspension and the much touted Tib 19mm sway bar upgrade is also available for you as well. Cat-back exhausts are rare for an Elantra, but one of our members just put on an RD Tiburon(1997-01) cat back with success and the CAI (Cold Air Intake) fit well on the earlier Elantras.

Welcome to the club, be sure to fill out a spot in the Garage and peruse the DIY's!
Babyhyundai05
Welcome to the club! I knew nothing about Hyundai until I came to the club. There's a lot of useful information here and many features like the garage to give any ideas on what to spend on the Elantra.
roydjt
All 99-00(J2) Elantras came with the BetaI 2.0L motor. All 2001-2003(XD) and 2004-2006(XD2) came with the BetaII motor, a 2.0L 16V DOHC variant of the Beta. A significant difference is that the XD2 have Continuously Variable Valve Timing (CVVT) among other minor electrical differences. Overseas, other motors have been offered such as a 1.6L, a 1.8L, and diesel options.