I've decided to keep the site online for the foreseeable future as a reference for Elantra owners. If you'd like to help with costs or still believe in this resource, please use the Donate link to help out. Thank you.
ElantraClub - for all generations

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Amazon · Advance Auto · Newegg · Ebay 

> Overview

This forum is now a read only archive. Please use our Garage to update you car's information and pictures.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 2009 instrument clusters, swapping out a sedan cluster for a touring cluster
shooter77
post Aug 27 2012, 07:21 AM
Post #1 | Print


Club Newbie
Group Icon
Group: Members
Posts: 6
Posts Per Day: 0.00
Thanks Received: 0
Trader Stats: 0 (0%)
Joined: 15-June 12
Member No.: 12,926


I'm new to elantras but was wondering if anyone has swapped the instrument clusters from a sedan to that of a touring elantra. I want to know my avg mpgs and I like the touring clusters better. Just wanting to figure out if it's going to be a PITA or if the wiring is pretty much identical on the two. Thanks in advance.


--------------------

A proud member of the club.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Vinnie
post Aug 27 2012, 07:49 AM
Post #2 | Print


Elantra Guru
Group Icon
Group: Leader
Posts: 3,309
Posts Per Day: 0.88
Thanks Received: 558
Trader Stats: 0 (0%)
Joined: 12-August 09
From: Clinton, MA (USA)
Member No.: 7,533
Mood: Evil


Im not sure about the swap but i know you can view the average mpg with the regular dash.


--------------------

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
shooter77
post Aug 27 2012, 12:34 PM
Post #3 | Print


Club Newbie
Group Icon
Group: Members
Posts: 6
Posts Per Day: 0.00
Thanks Received: 0
Trader Stats: 0 (0%)
Joined: 15-June 12
Member No.: 12,926


You can? I scroll through everything and all I see is odo, trip a, trip b. Unless there is something else I'm supposed to press or hold down or do something differently?? I'll play with it again but I'm pretty sure I can't see that with mine. I hope I'm just stupid and have overlooked something obvious.


--------------------

A proud member of the club.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
benman
post Aug 27 2012, 12:53 PM
Post #4 | Print


Post Maniac
Group Icon
Group: Lifetimer
Posts: 1,916
Posts Per Day: 0.63
Thanks Received: 268
Trader Stats: 1 (100%)
Joined: 11-July 11
Member No.: 10,696
Mood: Numb


Page 4-42 of the owner's manual says:

- Distance to empty
- Average fuel consumption
- Average speed
- Tripometer

Odometer is separate from these and appears below them, so it shouldn't be one of the things you scroll through.

One thing to try is resetting to see if something funky happened in there. Really odd that you wouldn't see this information.


--------------------

A proud member of the club.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Vinnie
post Aug 27 2012, 12:56 PM
Post #5 | Print


Elantra Guru
Group Icon
Group: Leader
Posts: 3,309
Posts Per Day: 0.88
Thanks Received: 558
Trader Stats: 0 (0%)
Joined: 12-August 09
From: Clinton, MA (USA)
Member No.: 7,533
Mood: Evil


Ah huh!

I guess they have two versions for the HD. This I did not know. That sucks.

Version one - "Trip computer" gives;
Trip/Range/MPG avg/MPH avg

Version two - "Trip Odometer" (without trip computer)
Cycling between Trip A & Trip B.




--------------------

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hyundave
post Aug 27 2012, 03:07 PM
Post #6 | Print


Poster Pro
Group Icon
Group: Lifetimer
Posts: 961
Posts Per Day: 0.32
Thanks Received: 180
Trader Stats: 2 (100%)
Joined: 1-September 11
From: Philadelphia, PA
Member No.: 11,051
Mood: Full


Yea I was gonna say... my HD already has mpg shown haha


--------------------


2008 Hyundai Elantra SE / Carbon Grey / Incus Body Kit / Sold at 98,400 miles
2011 Hyundai Genesis Coupe Premium / Black / Current DD at 43,000 miles
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
milehighhyundai
post Aug 27 2012, 09:13 PM
Post #7 | Print


Subdude dude
Group Icon
Group: Lifetimer
Posts: 451
Posts Per Day: 0.12
Thanks Received: 44
Trader Stats: 0 (0%)
Joined: 27-June 09
From: Colorado
Member No.: 7,353
Mood: Dorky


SE trim gets the trip computer, the GLS does not.

As for the original question, I do not think it is possible as the cars are quite different being as they are on separate platforms. My suggestion is to spend $150 and get a ScanGuage II and have lots of useful tools for MPG and car vitals.


--------------------

2012 Chevy Cruze Eco 6mt- yay turbo!
2011 Dodge Grand Caravan Crew... Pentastar powah!

Prev:
2009 Elantra SE- Great car that served me well
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
benman
post Aug 27 2012, 10:29 PM
Post #8 | Print


Post Maniac
Group Icon
Group: Lifetimer
Posts: 1,916
Posts Per Day: 0.63
Thanks Received: 268
Trader Stats: 1 (100%)
Joined: 11-July 11
Member No.: 10,696
Mood: Numb


Good point above. Looking at salvage yards, the speedometer/instrument cluster for the sedan with trip computer and without cruise control is running about $100 to $150. Even if it did fit, you could do a lot better with scangauge or other ODB II reader for the same or not much more money.

Although the original question doesn't matter so much either way -- the new question would be would a sedan cluster with trip computer plug-and-play replace one without if that's what shooter might want to do anyway.


--------------------

A proud member of the club.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
shooter77
post Aug 28 2012, 07:42 AM
Post #9 | Print


Club Newbie
Group Icon
Group: Members
Posts: 6
Posts Per Day: 0.00
Thanks Received: 0
Trader Stats: 0 (0%)
Joined: 15-June 12
Member No.: 12,926


son of a bitch! I am wanting a touring version anyway so I'm probably not gonna throw alot of money into it right now. So I'll just look into that for the future. Thanks for the help.


--------------------

A proud member of the club.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
shooter77
post Feb 2 2013, 08:29 PM
Post #10 | Print


Club Newbie
Group Icon
Group: Members
Posts: 6
Posts Per Day: 0.00
Thanks Received: 0
Trader Stats: 0 (0%)
Joined: 15-June 12
Member No.: 12,926


QUOTE (benman @ Aug 27 2012, 10:29 PM) *
Good point above. Looking at salvage yards, the speedometer/instrument cluster for the sedan with trip computer and without cruise control is running about $100 to $150. Even if it did fit, you could do a lot better with scangauge or other ODB II reader for the same or not much more money.

Although the original question doesn't matter so much either way -- the new question would be would a sedan cluster with trip computer plug-and-play replace one without if that's what shooter might want to do anyway.


I found a couple of SE gauge cluster with the mpg avg for around $30 on ebay. that would be alot more cost effective for me. I just want to know if the computer is in the gauge cluster itself and if they are any different as far as pluging in, and would the odometer be messed up if I switched gauge clusters?


--------------------

A proud member of the club.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 user(s) are reading this topic (2 guests and 0 anonymous Users)
0 Members:


Collapse

> Similar Topics

  Topic Replies Topic Starter Views Last Action
No New Posts 2009 Elantra SE spark plugs
3 dlt 436 10th August 2015 - 07:42 AM
Last post by: jamhandman
No New Posts 2009 Elantra rear brake pads
5 franco44 373 16th July 2015 - 04:02 PM
Last post by: slowgls
No New Posts 2009 Sonata audio problems
after hailstorm damage
0 bhorste 429 5th October 2014 - 08:44 PM
Last post by: bhorste
No New Posts 2009 Elantra Sport
9 JB24 4,458 15th May 2014 - 06:16 PM
Last post by: IRUN619
No New Posts Instrument bulb numbers
Dash instrument lamp numbers
10 bigdon 511 21st January 2014 - 07:50 PM
Last post by: xdforme22



 



RSS 2017 The Hyundai Elantra Club    
Time is now: 12th November 2019 - 01:54 AM
Elantra Club is not affiliated in any way with Hyundai Motor America