This forum is now officially closed and is a read-only archive
ElantraClub - for all generations

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Amazon · Advance Auto · Newegg · Ebay 
 Forum Rules Overview
3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> ECU reset questions answered
cclngthr
post Sep 9 2006, 04:32 PM
Post #13 | Print


The teach
Group Icon
Group: Lifetimer
Posts: 6,786
Posts Per Day: 1.41
Thanks Received: 0
Trader Stats: 0 (0%)
Joined: 24-February 05
From: Tacoma
Member No.: 426
Mood: Calm


QUOTE (stauf @ Sep 9 2006, 01:29 PM)
Another thing I've never gotten a full answer to..  Define Drive Cycle.
*


Drive Cycle=Key on, drive for 3-5 miles (normal driving) at speed, making sure you up/downshift from 1-5 and back 5-1 (auto 1-4/4-1) then shut down (key off) then a wait period (I think 1-5 minutes).


--------------------

"Childhood is measured by sounds and smells and sights before the dark hour of reason grows"
John Betjeman
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
stauf
post Sep 9 2006, 09:27 PM
Post #14 | Print


Volunteer
Group Icon
Group: Members
Posts: 2,553
Posts Per Day: 0.53
Thanks Received: 1
Trader Stats: 1 (66.7%)
Joined: 29-January 05
From: Land of Porn, CA
Member No.: 193
Mood: Cynical


Colin to the rescue... Is that a set pattern the ecu has defined as a drive cycle, or are there variables included in the logic? (sorry, programmer in me comming out)


--------------------

"Dusting is a good example of the futility of trying to put things right. As soon as you dust, the fact of your next dusting has already been established."

"I'm completely in favor of the separation of Church and State. My idea is that these two institutions screw us up enough on their own, so both of them together is certain death."

"Weather forecast for tonight: dark."
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ricerrx7
post Sep 9 2006, 10:25 PM
Post #15 | Print


Automotive Technician
Group Icon
Group: Lifetimer
Posts: 3,981
Posts Per Day: 0.83
Thanks Received: 8
Trader Stats: 0 (0%)
Joined: 2-February 05
From: Redondo Beach, Ca
Member No.: 247
Mood: Blah


I believe that the in order for the computer to see a full drive cycle, it has to be able to run through all of it's tests. And what colin described is the amount of time needed for this to happen.


--------------------


QUOTE (doc1987 @ Aug 29 2007, 02:33 PM)
call me a perfectsiotist but i...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
atlwteboy240
post May 13 2007, 09:16 PM
Post #16 | Print


Club Regular
Group Icon
Group: Members
Posts: 78
Posts Per Day: 0.02
Thanks Received: 0
Trader Stats: 0 (0%)
Joined: 29-April 07
Member No.: 3,954


i dont really understand the DIY for this what is the swich i didnt see anything tou rurn on or off mabey im jusy a dididi but please help me figure it out.


--------------------

A proud member of the club.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RHINESEL
post May 13 2007, 10:14 PM
Post #17 | Print


PhD in Intellectual Intercourse
Group Icon
Group: Members
Posts: 6,167
Posts Per Day: 1.33
Thanks Received: 0
Trader Stats: 0 (0%)
Joined: 27-July 05
From: Massachusetts
Member No.: 1,187
Mood: Crotchety


What do you need help with, understanding what the ECU is or with the DIY?

The ECU is what people think of as the car's "Computer". It takes a variety of imput signals and adjusts the engine to give the best programmed result. Our ECU's have a learning curve meaning that they also use historical information.

When you do certain modifications you change what these inputs are. For example, a CAI will change the airflow and temperature of the air from a stock airbox setup. Over time, the ECU will adapt to this. If you want to force the ECU to take the new inputs immediately you can "reset" it with a variety of methods.

Some like to reset it before racing events. Reseting it brings it back to factory like (some factory, some historical) settings that give slightly more power to the engine.

The three methods for reseting are as follows:

1. Pull the battery cables and step on the brake pedal.
2. Remove both ECU fuses
3. Add a switch via DIY to turn off the power to the ECU.

Any other questions feel free to ask.

I'm sure I made a mistake in here somewhere, anyone feel free to correct me!


--------------------


19 mm sway bar, easy intake mod with K&N filter, Pioneer DEH P4800MP, DC Strut Bar, Brushed Aluminum Dash Kit.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
silet
post May 13 2007, 10:17 PM
Post #18 | Print


...
Group Icon
Group: Lifetimer
Posts: 11,937
Posts Per Day: 2.46
Thanks Received: 137
Trader Stats: 14 (100%)
Joined: 11-January 05
From: Poughkeepsie, NY
Member No.: 5
Mood: Blah


I did tongue.gif


--------------------

05 Tidal Wave GLS 5 spd
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RHINESEL
post May 13 2007, 10:26 PM
Post #19 | Print


PhD in Intellectual Intercourse
Group Icon
Group: Members
Posts: 6,167
Posts Per Day: 1.33
Thanks Received: 0
Trader Stats: 0 (0%)
Joined: 27-July 05
From: Massachusetts
Member No.: 1,187
Mood: Crotchety


Where? Don't see it.


--------------------


19 mm sway bar, easy intake mod with K&N filter, Pioneer DEH P4800MP, DC Strut Bar, Brushed Aluminum Dash Kit.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Toecutter
post May 13 2007, 11:09 PM
Post #20 | Print


Post Maniac
Group Icon
Group: Lifetimer
Posts: 1,289
Posts Per Day: 0.29
Thanks Received: 1
Trader Stats: 0 (0%)
Joined: 18-March 06
From: SE Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,014
Mood: Accomplished


Drive Cycle:


--------------------

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
atlwteboy240
post May 14 2007, 05:35 PM
Post #21 | Print


Club Regular
Group Icon
Group: Members
Posts: 78
Posts Per Day: 0.02
Thanks Received: 0
Trader Stats: 0 (0%)
Joined: 29-April 07
Member No.: 3,954


my question was about the DIY where is the swich in it i didnt see any swich all i saw was taping into fuses and the blue wire. how long do you take out the fuses for or do you just unplug both then put them back in?\


--------------------

A proud member of the club.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ricerrx7
post May 14 2007, 05:41 PM
Post #22 | Print


Automotive Technician
Group Icon
Group: Lifetimer
Posts: 3,981
Posts Per Day: 0.83
Thanks Received: 8
Trader Stats: 0 (0%)
Joined: 2-February 05
From: Redondo Beach, Ca
Member No.: 247
Mood: Blah


It was assumed that if you can get that far, then you can figure out how to mount the two wires to a switch. Run the two new wires to where ever you want the switch, and connect them. But you only need to remove the fuses for a few seconds.


--------------------


QUOTE (doc1987 @ Aug 29 2007, 02:33 PM)
call me a perfectsiotist but i...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Midnightsky
post May 14 2007, 08:12 PM
Post #23 | Print


BOOST ME!!!!!
Group Icon
Group: Lifetimer
Posts: 1,003
Posts Per Day: 0.23
Thanks Received: 0
Trader Stats: 0 (0%)
Joined: 10-June 06
From: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Member No.: 2,333
Mood: Bored


So in all reality all I have to do is make a break in the blue wire in that specific harness and place any kind of switch in the middle of the break? Makes sence to me, I am an Electronics Engineer Undergradute and as far as I've learned that is the correct way to setup a disruption to the power. Now......ill effects after doing the switch and resetting the ECM alot.......so what are we talking about.....like loss of fuel mileage? The ECM getting fried or just wearing down quickly? (how quickly?) anything i'm missing please fill in cause I'm seriously considering this .......my mods are an SRI w/K&N, deleted second cat, baffled res, dynomax muffler.......future (next 2-5 months) PnP IM w/Phenolic spacer, Fidanza flywheel, upgrade exhaust pipe from stock-2.5inch.


--------------------

Your only crazy until you can back up your theory
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ricerrx7
post May 14 2007, 08:23 PM
Post #24 | Print


Automotive Technician
Group Icon
Group: Lifetimer
Posts: 3,981
Posts Per Day: 0.83
Thanks Received: 8
Trader Stats: 0 (0%)
Joined: 2-February 05
From: Redondo Beach, Ca
Member No.: 247
Mood: Blah


You just completely compexified the simpleness of "wire in a switch". LOL
The one downside that has been mentioned is that is has the possibility of killing the cat. The ECM learns the fuel trim and leans out the fuel to accomodate for emissions. So everytime you reset the ECU it runs a little bit richer than what is intended. Running raw fuel through the cat can cause degredation and eventually kill it. But as long as you don't reset it everytime you start the car, I can't really see this becoming a problem.

Loss of fuel mileage? That's debatable, as some people have actually claimed better mileage after a reset. No harm to the ECU itself, unless you do a really bad job of wiring.

I've got the switch installed (obviously), and have had no problems with it. Granted, I've used it like 3 times in the last year...


--------------------


QUOTE (doc1987 @ Aug 29 2007, 02:33 PM)
call me a perfectsiotist but i...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 user(s) are reading this topic (1 guests and 0 anonymous Users)
0 Members:


Collapse

> Similar Topics

  Topic Replies Topic Starter Views Last Action
No New Posts ECU swap
5 ElMurcielago 658 17th November 2014 - 07:51 AM
Last post by: J2/RD
No New Posts Questions on adding a sub to OEM system
2014 GT- Adding a sub to OEM system (non nav)
9 ttttrigg3r 4,241 15th September 2014 - 08:22 AM
Last post by: roydjt
No new Ecu tuning.
37 slowgls 71,918 3rd June 2014 - 01:53 PM
Last post by: kevinatfms
No New Posts Resetting the clock on stock radio/CD player
Am I stupid? What's the button combo?
16 Bing 6,835 13th May 2013 - 10:29 PM
Last post by: EDD
No New Posts ECU reprogramming
18 Modified_EGT 20,100 12th March 2013 - 10:28 PM
Last post by: bhurlin



 



RSS 2017 The Hyundai Elantra Club    
Time is now: 19th April 2018 - 11:54 PM
Elantra Club is not affiliated in any way with Hyundai Motor America